Injuries: My thoughts on treating them

I got a minor injury. I didn’t heed the warning from my biofeedback and I hurt myself. Stupid right? It’s okay though because I’ve dealt with so many injuries to so many parts of my body that I have devised a rehab plan after much trial and error to get me back and running quickly with minimal suffering.

So what affects the healing process? Well your body first mounts an immune response to prevent infection to the area. The affected area first becomes inflamed and then there is an increase in white blood cells which prevent the spread of infecting bacteria and aid in the removal of waste materials from the area. This is a good thing but can slow the healing process at a crucial period. See, inflammation causes a decrease in circulation to the area because blood vessels are constricted, this slows the rate that materials can be brought to and removed from the site of injury and consequentially, the healing process. You may be wondering why in the hell your body would want this but it is vital as it prevents the transmission of foreign material and bacteria from the injury site to other parts of the body. Makes sense now eh?

Anyways, I think it is a good idea to take an anti-inflammatory like Tylenol or some pain-killer to reduce inflammation initially. Once the initial inflammatory response has subsided it is imperative that the injured area is lightly exercised. Exercise increases blood-flow, which increases circulation, which increases the rate at which the injured area receives new building materials and removes waste products. Also, I make sure I am getting adequate nutrition ie. vitamins and minerals. Many vitamins and minerals act as co-factors in chemical reactions and are vital for the completion of these chemical reactions. In other words, if a co-factor vitamin or mineral is not present, the reaction which is likely taking place to rebuild your broken tissue doesn’t happen.

Exercise also promotes tissue turn-over which recycles old, worn out body tissues with new tissues. This is good news if your injured. But don’t push your luck. If an exercise is painful, it’s not helping you. Only choose exercises which test well or make the injured area feel good, otherwise you risk re-injuring the area.

Following the RICE method, or, Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation are a good idea to… but only for reducing inflammation. I usually don’t even bother with that shit unless I’m really hurtin.

Anyways, these are things that I have found helpful in the past and believe that they will work again.

Happy Training

Just for fun I’m going to name off injuries that I have had in the past. Right so both left and right wrists… bad ones to. I am quite ambidextrous. Left and right iliotibial bands… google it. Mild plantar fascilitis in my left foot. Slightly torn left bicep. Left quadratus lumborum… that’s a back muscle for those of you who don’t know your anatomy. Left shoulder instability which I’m still dealing with but getting better all the time… instability makes it pop out, which is quite painful. Oh yes and my chest. I was doing weighted dips one day and suddenly something in my chest popped. Which was quickly followed by pain. That was two years ago and to this day dips and bench press are occasionally painful and uncomfortable. I can do dips on rings without and problems but solid bars fuck me up. It has gotten significantly better but returns when I get overzealous with certain types of pressing work.

Leave a Reply

